top of page

 

 

A Lady and Lady's Maid Mysteries, 

set in post WWI England,  feature Lady Phoebe Renshaw and her lady's maid, Eva Huntford. In a village where no significant crime has been committed in over a hundred years, and where the local inspector particularly likes his whiskey, Phoebe and Eva will find it necessary to team up to solve crimes above and below stairs at Foxwood Hall and the nearby village of Little Barlow.

~~~

The Gilded Newport Mysteries,

features sleuth Emmaline Cross. As both a Vanderbilt cousin and a Newporter born and raised, Emma's as strong as the steel rails that built her relatives' fortune, fiercely independent, and as determined as the ocean tides when it comes to standing her ground and seeing that justice is done.

~~~

Sign up for my newsletter using the form below and receive sample chapters from

Murder at The Breakers and Murder Most Malicious!

 

Murder at The Elms

A Gilded Newport Mystery #11

As the nineteenth century comes to a close, the illustrious Vanderbilt family dominates Newport, Rhode Island, high society. But when murder arrives, reporter Emma Cross learns that sometimes the actions of the cream of society can curdle one’s blood in the latest installment of this bestselling cozy historical mystery series . . .
1901: Back from their honeymoon in Italy, Emma and Derrick are adapting to married life as they return to their duties at their jointly owned newspaper, the Newport Messenger. The Elms, coal baron Edward Berwind’s newly completed Bellevue Avenue estate, is newsworthy for two reasons: A modern mansion for the new century, it is one of the first homes in America to be wired for electricity with no backup power system, generated by coal from Berwind’s own mines. And their servants—with a single exception—have all gone on strike to protest their working conditions. Summarily dismissing and replacing his staff with cool and callous efficiency, Berwind throws a grand party to showcase the marvels of his new “cottage.”
 
Emma and Derrick are invited to the fete, which culminates not only in a fabulous musicale but an unforeseen tragedy—a chambermaid is found dead in the coal tunnel. In short order, it is also discovered that a guest’s diamond necklace is missing and a laborer has disappeared.

 
Detective Jesse Whyte entreats Emma and Derrick to help with the investigation and determine whether the murdered maid and stolen necklace are connected. As the dark deeds cast a shado
w over the blazing mansion, it’s up to Emma to shine a light on the culprit . . .

"Maxwell manages a vivid re-creation of Gilded Age New England and delivers several well-earned and hard-to-predict plot twists. Fans of Anne Perry’s Thomas and Charlotte Pitt novels will find plenty to enjoy." Publishers Weekly

"Combining mystery with real-life personalities from the Gilded Age makes for an entertaining and informative read." Kirkus Reviews

“Murder at the Elms keeps the reader in suspense from start to finish. It is another of Maxwell’s gripping tales of historical fiction set in another plush home of Newport’s Gilded Age. The beautiful descriptions of scenery, attire and grandiose events, as told through the eyes of a likeable and skilled sleuth and her husband, will not cease to fascinate readers." Newport This Week

". . . A twisty trip through a complex mystery in another featured historic home in Maxwell’s Gilded Newport mysteries, a series which sets her fictional characters neatly against historical individuals." The Historical Novel Society

"Murder at the Elms is a delightful book, and a complex mystery with many twists and turns, and plenty of suspects." Aunt Agatha's Mysteries 

"This was a great entry in the Gilded Newport Mysteries series, it had what I was looking for from this series and the author." Katherine's Book Review and Other Thoughts

"Alyssa Maxwell and Emma Cross never disappoint in the Gilded Newport Mysteries. Maxwell really brings turn-of-the-century Newport to life by taking the readers into the mansions and introducing us to the wealthy occupants and the people who keep the estates running." Randee Green Book Reviews

"There is no way that readers are not fans of this series as well as Maxwell and her amazing talent of drawing you in immediately.  And as Emma and Derrick and their lives grow and expand, you will fall deeper in love with everything.  I cannot wait until the next installment of this series because I NEED to know what happens next.....and so will you!" Cozy Mystery Book Reviews

Let's Connect!

Available in hardcover, ebook, and audio

Welcome!
Ther
e's lots here so please poke around a bit!



 

"Wonderfully entertaining historical mystery with marvelous characters."

Escape into a Good Book with Dollycas

"A methodically paced mystery as clues and relationships skillfully and steadily unfold." Novels Alive

"I love historical fiction and cozy mysteries, and this book is a perfect blend of both. There are so many great period details and descriptions that make this earlier time come alive." View From the Birdhouse

Alyssa Maxwell
 

  Author of the Gilded Newport Mysteries

and

A Lady and Lady's Maid Mysteries

Alyssa Maxwell, Author of the Gilded Newport Mysteries
bottom of page